Career Services

 

IAU’s Career Services consists of assisting students with resume writing, tips and interview techniques, advising of job openings and professional development workshops.

IAU’s programs do not prepare graduates for a specific occupation or employment and does not provide formal career planning services. All students are encouraged to speak with the staff, faculty, and instructors regarding career and professional planning. IAU will provide a list of employers who have contacted the University offering employment opportunities.

Students can find new employment opportunities on IAU’s Job Openings Page.

Career Assessment Tools

Utilizing these tools can help you target the specific position, work environment that best suits you. These sites provide tests and assessment tools to make career searching more productive. Each of the sites are free to use without obligation to sign-up for the service.

  1. Free Student Career Mentoring Sessions: https://mentorstudents.org/
  2. Capella’s Career Exploration video playlist
  3. MAPP Career Assessment Site: www.assessment.com
  4. Ten Free Career Assessment Tools: www.monster.com/career-advice/article/best-free-career-assessment-tools
  5. O*Net Resource Center: www.onetcenter.org
  6. Career One Stop: www.careeronestop.org/
  7. eLearning Planner: http://elearningplanner.learnkey.com
  8. Career College: http://www.careercolleges.com/career-assessment-test
  9. Career Fitter: http://careerfitter.com
  10. California Career Cafe: www.cacareercafe.com
  11. iSeek Careers: www.iseek.org
  12. My Next Move: www.mynextmove.org
  13. Graduate’s Guide to Getting Hired During Covid-19: https://study.com/resources/graduates-hiring-guide#0148
  14. How to Find a Mentor in College: https://study.com/resources/college-student-mentor-guide#0148

F-1 Visa / Working in the U.S.A.


If you are a foreign national, be aware of your employment eligibility and limitations. Please consult the following resources:

  1. IAU’s F-1 Handbook (SEVP)
  2. IAU’s F-1 Services: Employment Authorization – CPT / OPT
  3. Social Security Number
  4. Tax Status / Filing Services

Interview Advice

There are many resources out there to help you prepare for an upcoming job interview. Here are a few resources to get you started.

  1. Job Interviews: https://uptowork.com/blog/job-interviews
  2. Ace the Interview: http://career-advice.monster.com/job-interview/careers.aspx
  3. Interview Q&A: www.theladders.com/career-advice
  4. Interview Advice: https://jobs.theguardian.com/careers/interview-advice/
  5. How to Prepare for a Job Interview Infographic: http://www.manilarecruitment.com/manila-recruitment-articles-advice/how-to-prepare-for-a-job-interview-infographic/
  6. Common Job Interview Questions and Best Answers (20 Examples): https://uptowork.com/blog/job-interview-questions-and-answers
  7. Strengths & Weaknesses Question: https://novoresume.com/career-blog/what-are-your-strengths-and-weaknesses-interview-questions
  8. Why Do You Want to Work Here?: https://novoresume.com/career-blog/why-do-you-want-to-work-here
  9. Thank You Email After Interview: https://novoresume.com/career-blog/thank-you-email-after-interview

Job Search Engines

A job search engine collect job listings from all over the internet to help you find the job that’s right for you. These employment sites can also offer career and job-search advice, employer reviews, and describe different job descriptions or employers.

 


Use Jooble to find jobs and internships tailored for students by using the keyword student in their search bar. After you graduate, come back to start your career by finding jobs in your area specific to your degree!

 

  1. Complete Guide to a Job Search: https://uptowork.com/blog/job-search
  2. After College: www.aftercollege.com/
  3. Business Week: http://jobs.businessweek.com/a/all-jobs/list/q-mba/l-los+angeles,+ca
  4. Career Bliss: www.careerbliss.com/
  5. Career Builder: www.careerbuilder.com/
  6. College Recruiter: www.collegerecruiter.com/
  7. Career Rookie: www.careerrookie.com/
  8. Glass Door: www.glassdoor.com
  9. Indeed: www.indeed.com
  10. Idealist: www.idealist.com
  11. Intern Jobs: www.internjobs.com/
  12. InternMatch: https://www.wayup.com/
  13. Internships: www.internships.com
  14. LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/jobs/?trk=
  15. Monster: http://career-advice.monster.com/
  16. Neuvoo: http://neuvoo.com/en
  17. Simply Hired: www.SimplyHired.com
  18. USA Jobs: www.USAJobs.com
  19. Entry Level Jobs: https://local.job-applications.com/
  20. Business Administrator Jobs: https://universityhq.org/

Professional & Spiritual Development Workshops

IAU provides on-going opportunities for professional and spiritual development for the growth of faculty, staff, and students. Workshops are scheduled a session in advance. Stay connected with us as we announce new opportunities every session.

In 2018, IAU provided several professional and spiritual development workshops, here’s a few:

  • eCommerce: An Introductory to Dropshipping on Ebay (02/18)
  • Graduation / Optional Practical Training Workshop (02/18, 03/18, 05/18, 07/18, 09/18, 11/18)
  • Communicating with Tact & Professionalism (03/18)
  • Employment Based Visas & Green Cards (03/18)
  • Leading When Not The Leader (08/18)
  • Maximizing Your LinkedIn (09/18)
  • The Secret Codes of Creation (09/18)
  • Networking for Business Professionals (11/18)
  • Identity Lost (11/18)

Resume Writing

Use the IAU Writing Center for assistance writing your resume! Right-click here to copy the Writing Center email address for more information!

New links for 2021!

  1. Top Skills Employers Look For 2021: 200 recruiters and hiring managers detailing which skills employers and companies look for in 2021
  2. Top Traits and Qualities Employers Look for in 2021: The personality traits and qualities that recruiters and hiring managers value the most and find out the “X factor” that’ll win them over
  3. How to Make a Resume in 2021: A comprehensive guide on written by a Career Expert
  4. How to Write a Cover Letter for a Job in 2021: Written by a resume expert and career advice writer
  5. Free resume templates for students and graduates to download, curated by career experts and professional resume writers

Below are a few more resources to help you write your resume.

  1. How to Create a Resume that Gets Noticed
  2. How to Write a Resume for a Job
  3. How to Format and Upload Your Resume for the Online Job Search
  4. Complete Guide to Writing a Student Resume (13 Tips and Examples)
  5. Resume Examples
  6. Resume Template
  7. How to Write an Effective Resume
  8. Careers.org Resume Writing Tips
  9. Purdue Writing Lab
  10. Monster.com Resume Tips
  11. Job Hero Resume & Cover Letter Builder

Resume Samples

  1. Visual CV
  2. Live Career
  3. Job Hero
  4. Velvet Jobs
  5. Cover Letters & Resume
  6. Novoresume

Cover Letter Writing

Use the IAU Writing Center for assistance writing your cover letter! Right-click here to copy the Writing Center email address for more information!

Check out the links below for resources to help you write your cover letter!

  1. How to Format a Cover Letter in 2021
  2. How to Address a Cover Letter